After – Anna Todd

You know when a book is hyped so much that you just roll your eyes and leave it be? Yeah? That’s probably one of those reasons, why I was late to the After – party. Next to that, One Direction isn’t exactly my kind of band but then again, 1 billion reads on Wattpad cannot like, or can they?

Like mentioned before, I was ignoring that book for a long time, but now I gave in and finally jumped onto the train. My thought on the book will follow in this review, so please read on! You can find my German review here.

22557520

 

Title: After (After #1)
Author: Anna Todd
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 582
Publisher: Gallery Books
Published: 21st of October, 2014
Rating: 3 Stars

 

 

 

 

Tessa is a good girl with a sweet, reliable boyfriend back home. She’s got direction, ambition, and a mother who’s intent on keeping her that way.But she’s barely moved into her freshman dorm when she runs into Hardin. With his tousled brown hair, cocky British accent, tattoos, and lip ring, Hardin is cute and different from what she’s used to.

But he’s also rude—to the point of cruelty, even. For all his attitude, Tessa should hate Hardin. And she does—until she finds herself alone with him in his room. Something about his dark mood grabs her, and when they kiss it ignites within her a passion she’s never known before.

He’ll call her beautiful, then insist he isn’t the one for her and disappear again and again. Despite the reckless way he treats her, Tessa is compelled to dig deeper and find the real Hardin beneath all his lies. He pushes her away again and again, yet every time she pushes back, he only pulls her in deeper.

Tessa already has the perfect boyfriend. So why is she trying so hard to overcome her own hurt pride and Hardin’s prejudice about nice girls like her?

Unless…could this be love?

Now newly revised and expanded, Anna Todd’s After fanfiction racked up 1 billion reads online and captivated readers across the globe. Experience the Internet’s most talked-about book for yourself!

There was the time before Tessa met Hardin, and then there’s everything AFTER … Life will never be the same.

First of all, I have to say that I don’t get the hype! The book isn’t bad, but then again, it’s nothing too special either. It’s the regular new adult college book.

!!!This review may include spoilers!!!

The never-ending back and forth between Tess and Hardin is so annoying, not even hot Hardin is making up for it. Yes, he is hot and I don’t even mind is grumpiness, but often he seems a little schizophrenic and like he is torn between two different persons.

And Tessa…or dear! What I really liked about her, is that she is very eager and hard-working, knows what she wants and tries to achieve her goals. But she’s also the typical naïve virgin girl. It’s a contemporary story, thus, I find it weird that she basically knows nada about sex. I don’t know how sexual education is done in the US, but nowadays you have access to actually everything online and usually every youngster is curious about these kinds of things, no matter how well protected you are growing up.

Also her relationship with Noah…I found it odd and weird. To me they were more like brother and sister than girl– and boyfriend – I suppose that was on purpose but nonetheless it did annoy me.

Don’t even make me start about Tess mother. I guess we can commonly agree that she was annoying. Yes? Yes!

As for Tessa and Hardin together:
Like mentioned before, the back and forth between them is really too much and annoying. I don’t understand how Tessa can give in so quickly when she actually has her principles and rules she goes by? It’s basically like she is sleeping with the next best guy crossing her way. Personally, I believe, if you have made up your mind and own rules when it comes to sex, you usually stick to it and doesn’t throw it overboard just because a hot guy is showing up.

So their relationship has been a mess from right the beginning and I can’t understand how she can let a guy treat her like that? Doesn’t she has any self-worth and pride? I’m not saying that Hardin is a bad guy, he as just as many issues as Tess has but that doesn’t qualify him treating people that.

Overall I can say that the first book of this series didn’t convince me, but I also heard that the following books will be better and really hope this is true! Due to all the issue, the book has and I had with the book, I can’t give it more than a 3 – Star rating.

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

Spare some love!

