The Rose Society – Marie Lu

“Why feel guilty for something that isn’t your fault?
Because I loved him. And now he is gone.”

25388015Title: The Rose Society (The Young Elites #2)
Author: Marie Lu
Genre: FantasyYoung Adult, Dystopia
Pages: 395
Publisher: Putnam Books for Young Readers
Published: October 13th, 2015
Rating: 3,75 (???) STARS
Buy: AmazoniBooks|
Barnes&NobleBookDepository

Synopsis*:
Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?

“When you’re all alone in a world that hates and fears you, you want to find others like yourself. New friends. Elite friends.” 

Review:

(Have you read my awesome review of The Young Elites yet? If not, head there right away!)

I found this book at my local store about 3 weeks prior to its release date, and I immediately bought it without reading the first book, which I, therefore, did right away anyway.

Sometimes it’s really nice to be able to continue a series without waiting a year before the next book is published and so I was very happy that I haven’t had read The Young Elites yet. I enjoyed the first book a lot and was curious how the story of Adelina in The Rose Society would continue.

I have to say I haven’t been disappointed and I hope, if you decide to read The Young Elites series, won’t be either.

The book picks up right where the first book ended and takes us to various places and we will get to meet various new and awesome characters, as well as the one we already know.

According to Marie Lu it’s the darkest book she has ever written and I have to agree;  it’s one of the darkest books I have ever read. I’m not certain, if I really liked Adelina. I know from the first book what she has been through and what she had to endure in her young life, but in The Rose Society she only seems…evil and bloodthirsty and really longing for hurting others. She really does stop at nothing and by the end of the book, she will need to pay the price for it.

And while other readers found the book fast-paced and action loaded, I actually did find it almost a little…slow or at least there wasn’t too much action. It’s not a bad thing at all but for me I wished there would have been a bit more action and happening. The things that did happen were great and some were predictable and some not…it’s just…well…I just feel a little meh towards it, maybe because of how Adelina behaved throughout the book and her entire attitude.

So my rating is somewhere between 3,5 – 4 stars. I really liked the book but did not enjoy it as much as I did with The Young Elites.

 

 

SPOILER

“In the silence, I sit alone on my throne and wait eagerly for all the satisfaction and triumph to hit me. I wait, and wait, and wait.

But it doesn’t come.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

8 thoughts on “The Rose Society – Marie Lu”

    1. Thank you for your comment!
      I haven’t read the Legend series yet, but I should maybe do so soon. I’m sure you’d enjoy The Young Elites – Series.
      Thank you for your faves on Twitter! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m waiting to get my hands on this book! I really liked The Young Elites (and also her other series, Legend, they’re really good!). I’m hoping she won’t do the thing I fear the most… and I’m looking forward to dark Adelina!

    Laura @ psilovethatbook

    Like

Spare some love!

