Where do I buy my books?

Hello and happy Monday! Today I want to show you where I buy my books.

Most of the paperbacks I have bought during the last year I got from the Academic Bookstore in Helsinki. It’s the largest bookstore in Finland (or probably even Northern Europe) and it’s huge, not to say massive! It has a large collection of English books, as well as books in Finnish, Swedish, Russian, German, French, Spanish, and Estonian. And probably other languages too.

2015-09-03 19.45.52-1

It also has a coffee on the second floor and Starbucks on the ground floor, and currently it holds an exhibition of Jean Sibelius on the top floor.

Books can be found on the ground– and second floor. In the basement, you have stationery supplies and a passageway to the Stockmann Department Store of which the Academic Bookstore used to be a part. Now the bookstore has been bought by a Swedish company and therefore, there will probably be some major and minor changes during this fall.

2015-09-03 19.24.54-1

Having a Starbucks included in my favourite store of the city is dangerous. Because whenever I go to browse for books, I end up getting my beloved Chai Latte and whenever I actually just want to go for a Chai Latte, I end up buying books. The struggle of a bookworm.

You can basically find any genre within that store and they have so many different kind of books, it’s overwhelming.

2015-09-03 19.37.11-1

Despite they are having so many amazing books and such a large collection, I still have a love-hate relationship with that store.

  • they hardly ever get new titles around their release date. Only “Grey” by E.L. James was on the shelves right on the date of publication. But usually it takes them at least a few weeks to a couple of months to actually have these books on their “new releases” shelf that have been out for a few months by that time already…

2015-09-03 19.39.06-1

  • I once pre-ordered a book. It took them 3 months to get it. It might have been partly fault by the publisher/deliverer, but comon 3 fucking months? For a newly released book? Seems like SJM was writing the book just for me…
  • their Young Adult Section is…boring. There are books which is great…but 87% of the books within this section, I have never heard of. There’s no Sarah J. Maas, there’s no Maggie Stiefvater and all the other huge YA-Authors are missing and if there’s anything I want to read it’s the second, third or fourth book. Or på Svenska (in Swedish).

2015-09-03 19.38.32-1

I hope that these things will change with the new owners this falls. I would love to have a better sorted YA/NA section and a wider variety of authors.

During the last few months, the store has emptied their storage which can be seen on my July and August bookhaul. 80% off *cough*

If I don’t buy books there, I buy online at Adlibris and Amazon.

From Adlibris, I often get my hardcover books. They simply have the best deals. Or I buy these books, I can’t find from the Academic Bookstore. From Amazon I get all my ebooks for my Kindle (Voyage).

And then, last but not least, Suomalainen Kirjakauppa. It’s a chain of bookstores (just like Academic Bookstore actually is, too!) and there are many stores within Helsinki and the greater Helsinki area. But it’s rather seldom that I buy any books there. I don’t know why but these stores simply don’t have the charm the Academic Store has.

Where to find the stores:

Akateeminen Kirjakauppa (Academic Bookstore)
Keskuskatu 1, Pohjoisesplanadi 39
00101 Helsinki

Suomalainen Kirjakauppa –  Aleksi 23
Aleksanterinkatu 23
Helsinki, 00100

Suomalainen KirjakauppaKamppi Kauppakeskus
Urho Kekkosen Katu 1
Helsinki, 00100
00101 Helsinki

Where do you guys buy your books?

 

 

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

9 thoughts on “Where do I buy my books?”

  1. OH MY GOD! If I had known this just 1 month and a half ago!!! I was in Helsinki for 10 hours but I stayed at airport with fear of then losing my bus to Tampere. But for this I would’ve gone!

    Like

      1. I was a participant in the European Youth Parliament International Session. Dang it! I looked everywhere for bookstores with books in Englis and all I found was a little one with 3 shelves! xD
        I hope there’s a next time, but it’s on the other side of Europe for me hahaha 😉

        Like

Spare some love!

