Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas

“Let’s go rattle the stars.”

18006496Title: Queen Of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: FantasyYoung Adult, 
Pages: 656
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Published: September 1st, 2016
Rating: 5 STARS
Buy: AmazoniBooks|
Barnes&NobleAdlibrisBookDepository

Synopsis*:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

!!!THIS REVIEW INCLUDES HIDDEN SPOILERS!!!

Review:

One of the most anticipated books has finally been released. Most of you have been waiting for almost a year, for me it was only some weeks but my excited was over the clouds nonetheless.

“She was the heir of fire. 
She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood ans survival and triumph.”

Celaena is back. Back in Adarlan, back in Rifthold. She came back to take what belongs to her and the execute these, who took everything from her. The people she loved and her own identity.

I love how this book starts off. There are immediately old characters from former books. Some we know well, some we just might have heard of. We are back in places we been before but still it’s not the same. The girl has grown into a young woman and she’s not Celaena anymore. She’s Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, rightful queen of Terrasen.

“I believe the title out esteemed friends in the empire now like to use is ‘fire-breathing-bitch-queen.'”

And we all know that bitch-queen is quite a suitable title for her. She’s bitchy, snappy and says what she thinks. She’s as bad-ass as always.

Aelin is such a strong woman, who won’t let herself bring down by anyone.

“She was a whirling cloud of death, a queen of shadows, and these men were already carrion.”

We meet Arobynn and Chaol.
We all remember too well what Arobynn did to her. And we know Aelin/Celaena. She will not rest until she got her revenge.
The relationship between Chaol and Celaena is…weird and…stiff. There is a lot of bitching and accusations and he seems to blame her for everything. But to me he seems hurt. Hurt that she left him, hurt by what happened to her and hurt that she supposedly has moved on.

 

 

 

SPOILER

I’m sorry for all the CelaenaChaol-Shippers but they are officially over and out.

 

 

 

But I have to say that I actually liked all the bitchiness between them. It was sometimes really entertaining.

Of course the book couldn’t go without Rowan. He seemed like a total jerk in the last book for most of the time but he quickly won my heart. And I’m squealing each time he comes up. OMG, I love him so much!

 

 

 

SPOILER

And I think it’s great that she – for now – decided to be with him. They make a great couple because they are both Fae and he’s an amazing addition to the throne.

“You make me want to live, Rowan. Not survive; not excist. Live.”

 

 

 

We also get to meet Lysandra again. At first I was “Ugh…really?”, but at the end I was very happy. It’s funny how things can change. She definitely has won my heart.

“You and I are nothing but wild beasts, wearing human skins. Don’t even try to deny it.”

Kaltain, the King, Manoa Blackbeak and Dorian are back again. Oh, Dorian – what have they done to you? It breaks my heart, but I love how Chaol stands by his side nonetheless, but sometimes even the hardest decisions need to me made. And of course, there’s Aedion. I’m still not sure whether I like him or not. To me, he still seems a little “off”.

I still enjoyed the Witch Chapters. Maybe they are not that evil after all? And I’m sure we will meet her again in the next book.

And we also meet a new character: Nesryn. She’s part of the rebellious group Chaol is a part of as well and we get to know interesting details. I can’t really say I like her, but she seem like she can be trusted and I’m sure she will appear in the next book quite a bit.

As for the story; I love how things develop, all the happens, the actions, the twists, the expected and unexpected. At some points, it was a little slow but that doesn’t do much damage. This book holds so many surprises and things I never thought about. It’s so nice to see all the characters grow and develop.

The writing is so fantastic and it has grown so much since the first book. I said it before and say it again: Sarah is such a talented writer. Her stories really do come to life and soak you in.

“And at long last, Aeiln Ashryver Galathynius was home.”

Damn, it was really good and pure enjoyment. I probably read the entire series again over Christmas or so. Haha!

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

9 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas”

  1. This book is massive! Sadly, I couldn’t get into this series so I’m one of those few who wasn’t all that gung-ho about this release. I’m glad it’s everything you’ve expected and more. 🙂

    Like

    1. I didn’ really like the first book either when I read it last year for the first time, but this time around I loved it. Just like I did with the entire series.

      I can’t wait to get my hardcopy into my hands! Haha!

      Like

  2. Reading this right now. I know fellow Rowan fans are very happy so I am ecstatic. I think that Chaol and Aelin has more chemistry than they ever had in this book.

    Like

  3. I am so so so glad that you loved this book as much as I did. I finished it Sunday night and I’m still trying to piece myself back together so I can write something resembling a review. All the plotlines, all the character development, my mind and heart are blown! Awesome review! 🙂

    Like

  4. Aelin and Rowan totally set this book on fire with their love, omg, I love them so *clutches precious bb and pray that SJM won’t sink my ship in the next book*

    I actually liked Chaol and Aelin’s tension in this book, I never liked Chaolena and thought that this animosity made them more interesting.

    Like

Spare some love!

