Slammed – Colleen Hoover

15950496Title: Slammed (Slammed #1)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published: February 14th, 2013
Rating: 5 STARS
Buy: AmazoniBooks|
Barnes&NobleAdlibrisBookDepository

Synopsis*:

Layken’s father died suddenly, leaving her to gather every ounce of strength to be a pillar for her family, in order to prevent their world from falling apart. Now her life is taking another unexpected turn…
Layken’s mother gets a job which leads to an unwanted move across country. However, a new home means new neighbours… and Layken’s new neighbour is the very attractive Will Cooper.
Will has an intriguing passion for slam poetry, and a matching passion for life. The two feel an irresistible attraction but are rocked to the core when a shocking revelation brings their romance to a screeching halt.
Layken and Will must find a way to fight the forces that threaten to tear them apart… or learn to live without each other.

Review:

It’s really hard to actually review this book without giving away too much or spoiling. But let me try…

This book broke me in two, shattered my heart and puzzled it together again. It was the first book read by Colleen Hoover. I heard that heart books were amazing and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, but all my expectations have been exceeded. After I finished the book I cried myself to sleep and cried a little more after I woke up.

tumblr_mf90l4urlk1risuxpo1_400

This probably was the most emotional book I have ever read.

I love how this book starts off. You can feel the hurt and desperation, but it all seems less bad when Will turns up but, of course, this feeling won’t last long. There are a lot of obstacles that are not easy to overcome and that could have consequences for Will and his future especially. Both soon realise that their relationship doesn’t stand a chance at this point.

This is all so sad and painful. It really hurts to read. And both are just so desperate for one another but know they just can’t be together.

tumblr_inline_ntphfySODi1t4rkrt_500

I really like the characters. Layken and Will were fantastic, realistic and absolutely lovable. I loved the relationships they both had to their younger siblings. It’s beautiful. And the friendship of their brothers, somehow also makes them realise that they need to able to get along with each other.

And just when everything seems calm and about okay, there’s another blow and sweeps you off your feet and makes you cry even more (I have tears in my eyes while writing this!).

nina-dobrev-crying-make-it-stop

Of course things won’t stay as grim as they are but it’s still painful.

All I can say that this book really is amazing and that everybody should read it. I have the second book at home waiting to be read and I definitely will pick it up one rainy autumn weekend.

Have you read this book or even the entire series yet?

 

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

3 thoughts on “Slammed – Colleen Hoover”

  1. I have read the entire series. I absolutely loved the first two. For the past week, I have been trying to convince my daughter that she should read this book. She’s a John Greene fan and loved Fault in the Stars. I think your post will help convince her to read it. Thanks!

    Like

Spare some love!

