The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J. Maas

Her beauty was a weapon – one she kept honed – but it could also be a vulnerability.

18243700 Title: The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass 0.1 – 0.5)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 352
Publisher: Bloomsburry Children’s USA
Published: March 14th, 2014
Rating: 4.2 STARS
Buy: AmazoniBooks|
Barnes&NobleAdlibrisBookDepository

Synopsis*:

Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom’s most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin’s Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.

When Celaena’s scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes—and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn’s orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn’s clutches—and if they fail, they’ll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives…

A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers listeners a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling—and deadly—world.

Included in this volume:

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (*****)
The Assassin and the Healer (****)
The Assassin and the Desert (*****)
The Assassin and the Underworld (***)
The Assassin and the Empire (****)

Oh my, can we talk about how great these Novellas were and how much I enjoyed Celaena’s adventures and journeys?

Sarah J. Maas truly has a gift for writing great stories and taking the reader away to a foreign world. She writes it so vividly that you have the feeling that you are right by Celaena’s side, fighting her battles and feeling her pain and sorrow.

I really, really loved The Assassin and the Pirate Lord and The Assassin and the Dessert. Both of the stories were so unique and amazing that I flew through them on high-speed. It was amazing what she did in The Assassin and the Pirate Lord, even though the consequences weren’t that great.

The Assassin and the Dessert broke my little heart. Ansel really seemed the girl you can steal horses with – quite literally but soon we learn better.

If you can learn to endure pain, you can survive anything. Some people learn to embrace it – to love it. Some endure it through drowning it in sorrow, or by making themselves forget. Others turn it into anger.

I also enjoyed The Assassin and the Healer a lot. I think it’s important that woman stand together and stand up for one another instead of bitching and spreading envy and hate. It’s also nice that Celaena helps to fulfill somebody else’s dreams and wishes.

Somehow, the Assassin and the Underworld world was my least favourite of the novellas. It’s not bad – not at all – I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the others. But I can’t really point out what it was.

The last story – the Assassin and the Empire  – broke my heart. It’s so sad to what it can to and I can’t understand why someone would to this to somebody. It’s just cruel!

Sarah J. Maas is really becoming to one of my favourite authors. I still can’t believe that I didn’t like Throne of Glass when I read it the first time, but I’m so glad I read it again and with it the complete series. Next week I will publish a review for Crown of Midnight and the week after for Heir of Fire. Luckily it’s only 19 days until the release of Queen of Shadows. I’m so excited!

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

3 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J. Maas”

  1. I loved these novellas! The desert one was my favourite. I can’t wait for Queen of Shadows. I’m currently rereading Heir of Fire to get myself even more hyped up for September first. Awesome review! 🙂

    Like

Spare some love!

