Dragon Fall – Katie MacAlister

23507711Title: Dragon Fall (Black Dragons #1)
Author: Katie MacAllister
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romancy
Pages: 352
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Published: July 28th, 2015
Rating: 2 Stars + 1
Buy: Amazon| iBooks| Barnes&Noble| Adlibris| Book Depository

Synopsis*:

YOU FLIRT WITH FIRE…

For Aoife Dakar, seeing is believing-and she’s seen some extraordinary things. It’s too bad no one else believes that she witnessed a supernatural murder at an outdoor fair. Returning to the scene for proof, Aoife encounters a wise-cracking demon dog-and a gloriously naked man who can shift into a dragon and kiss like a god. Now thrust into a fantastical world that’s both exhilarating and terrifying, Aoife is about to learn just how hot a dragon’s fire burns.

WHEN YOU DATE A DRAGON

Kostya has no time for a human woman with endless questions, no matter how gorgeous or tempting she is. He must break the curse that has splintered the dragon clans before more of his kind die. But his powerful attraction to Aoife runs much deeper than the physical-and there may be more to her than even his sharp dragon eyes can see. To survive the coming battle for the fate of his race, he needs a mate of true heart and soul . . .

 

Review:

This book was a total random find at my local bookstore. The cover was so intriguing that I had to take into my hands and check it out further. After a quick research, it showed that it was part of a spin-off series and since it was free for me anyways (I have a paperback pass where I get every 8. book for free…) I simply took it home with me.

I wasn’t sure what to expect because I hadn’t read any book by the author yet nor hadn’t I ever heard something about her. Before I was starting the book I reassured myself if I needed to read all the other books that belong to the Dragon Sept Series (1. Aisling Grey: Guardian (Green Dragons), 2. Silver Dragons, 3. Light Dragons, 4. Black Dragons,) or if I can read it nonetheless. If was said that it would be good to read the first series, Aisling Grey: Guardian (Green Dragons), but it would also be possible to read it anyway. So in I went.

I found the books very interesting, entertaining and also very funny at the beginning. Aoife as a main character was…okay but to me nothing special as such, but she really was a special case with all her exclamations all the time.

To quote a few:

“Sweet Sardine Sandwiches!”
“Holy garbanzo beans!”
“Sweet scuppering salamanders!”
“Holy cheese on whiz

I could go on with these but if I would, I’d still sit here tomorrow night. So don’t get me wrong, she wasn’t bad or anything just really tiring after a while…

I really had my issues with Kostya and couldn’t really warm up to him until the very end.  At least he was described to be very hot, somehow the character wasn’t and he was way too grumpy for my liking. The characters were okay too although we didn’t really get to know much about them since it mainly was Aoife, Katsuya and Jim. Oh, I love Jim! He’s the crazy demon dog who can talk. He was hilarious and I really like him.

I also expected more sexy times and romance, but I have been pretty disappointed by that. I didn’t feel any sparks and surely no fire between them…

I gave it a good & solid 3 stars first but after reconsideration I  lowered my rating to 2.5 STARS.  This one additional star is because I sometimes felt a little lost and questioning because I didn’t read the other books. You surely can read this series without having read any of the other books before but I guess it would maybe have been more enjoyable if I have had the background information on certain things although I’m not sure if it would have offset the average writing…

 

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

2 thoughts on “Dragon Fall – Katie MacAlister”

    1. Thank you!

      As I said, the book might be better if you have read the other books and know more background information. And maybe also the characters like Aisling and Kostya etc. 🙂

      Like

Spare some love!

