Divine Scream – Benjamin Kane Ethridge

Title: Divine Scream
Author: Benjamin Kane Ethridge
Pages: 322 (Kindle); 254 (Paperback)
Published: April 24th 2015 by JournalStone
Rating: 3 Stars
Buy on Amazon.

25329501

For Jared Kare, every part of life is terrifying. He relies heavily on his friends and family for everything in his day to day existence. So when he is confronted by a banshee who would soon herald his death, Jared finds a new type of terror.

There are things much worse than dying though.

Jared has been given as a gift to the Assembly, a demonic group who hunger to possess and torture him forever. Will the banshee save him from the assembly, watch him die, or both?

Love can be found in the most unlikely places, but nothing can be accomplished without a great deal of luck, and sacrifice.

This book was provided via Librarything and Book View Cafe in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much.

I really had my struggles with this book and being in a reading slump didn’t help either.

This book was somewhat unique and I’ve never read a novel like this before. But the book was also very confusing sometimes and personally I found the English used a little weird, but that might be because I’m not a native English speaker.

The entire story basically happens within one day, so the characters don’t really show a lot of development which I usually find important for a story. So Jared – the protagonist – always stays the same anxious guy. From his behaviour I first thought he was much, much younger than he actually turned out to be.

Then there’s The Banshee. I really liked her character but again I found the reader doesn’t really get to know her since the entire book happens within one day. All the other things like the Assembly and the Silent Kings…it’s was just too confusing and that actually really annoyed me. But again that again, that might be because I was in a reading slump and really forced myself to finish the book. Others may like the book but personally it just wasn’t my kind of book.

Because the story was somewhat unique, I gave the book 3 Stars.

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

Spare some love!

