Most wanted books

I guess every book enthusiast can relate to that topic.

As a lover of books you don’t only have a to-be-read list or a regular wish list on Amazon and GoodReads, no you probably have a most wanted list as well. Or at least this is what I have seen on GoodReads and also have myself. To make at least a little difference I called my list “to buy soon“.

Currently there are 3 books on that list which I would love to get my hand on very very soon. Well basically right now to honest. I know I could get all these books from the Kindle-Store but these are books I simply want to have on my bookshelf as physical copy.

The most anticipated book, however, is S. by J. J. Abrams (Creator) and Dough Dorst (Author).

17860739

One book. Two readers. A world of mystery, menace, and desire.

A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown.

THE BOOK: Ship of Theseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V. M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched onto a disorienting and perilous journey.

THE WRITER: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world’s greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumours that swirl around him.

THE READERS: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they’re willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts, and fears.

S. , conceived by filmmaker J. J. Abrams and written by award-winning novelist Doug Dorst, is the chronicle of two readers finding each other in the margins of a book and enmeshing themselves in a deadly struggle between forces they don’t understand. It is also Abrams and Dorst’s love letter to the written word.

I find the concept of this book absolutely fascinating and interesting; at the same time it seems endlessly confusing. But the latter fact encouraged me to really want to read this book and get lost into these stories.

However, since there are even “Beginner’s guides” on how to start with the book and recommendations how to read and what to consider while reading it.

I’m so excited about reading this book that I really may get it for my birthday later this month.

xoxo,
Fhina

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

14 thoughts on “Most wanted books”

    1. Hi and thank you for your comment.

      The books surely is intimidating but things like that don’t scare me. I really love challenges! 😀
      Let me know when you get around to read it!

      Like

  1. Okay we are now blogger besties because you are the only person that I’ve come across who knows what S even is! DO YOU KNOW HOW BAD I WANT THIS BOOK?!! My birthday is in August, so I think I’m going to finally make the 20 something dollar purchase because OMG THIS BOOK! I hope we both get it soon so we can fangirl together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha!
      The books is somehow popular, but maybe only amongst geeks and it’s just not so hyped within the blogger sphere as other books. But the book is also outside of the usual genre I read. I was considering ordering the book from Amazon Germany since it’s about 25€ there but then I’d need to pay 10€ shipping. So I actually just ordered it from Book Depository, hoping it get’s here soon.

      Like

    1. Hi!

      Yes it really sounds interesting! I was ordering it this week from book depository and hope it will arrive next week. Very excited to hold it in my hands. I will likely post about it!

      Thanks for the follow!

      Like

      1. Yes! The smell is so great! And oh the inserts! I will keep this book for after my thesis when I can really concentrate on it. 🙂

        Like

    1. 🙂 It’s the best way to keep an eye on it. It’s a bummer that my HUGE bookstore barely has any of the (very hyped) books I wanna read… 😦

      Like

Spare some love!

