These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

http://lil-aree.deviantart.com/gallery/51718597/These-Broken-Stars

I read this book within the Booksplosion February group read-along on goodreads. Discussions on the book can be found here.

Before I start my review, can we talk about how f*cking beautiful this cover is?
It’s so fantastic!
OMG!!!

I have to admit that I didn’t really knew a lot about this book itself, except that it was something about space and a spaceship. I didn’t even read the synopsis of it (should I feel ashamed of it). Generally it is said to be like “Titanic in Space”, but I didn’t knew that either until after I finished reading it.

!!!ATTENTION THE REVIEW COULD BE KINDA SPOILERY!!!

However, the book is the first one of the Starbound Trilogy and the synopsis is kept rather short:

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Since I didn’t really knew a lot about the book beforehand and mainly wanted to read it because the cover is so gorgeous (yes, I know to never judge I book by its cover but sometime I can’t help. After all the human is a visual being…), I was pretty excited to starting it. But this excitement vanished quickly after the first few pages and chapters. I didn’t even knew if I wanted to continue it after I had read about 30 pages and until up to page 70 it actually even was somewhat of a struggle, but after that it somehow picked up for me and I really enjoyed it.

Generally, the book is quite fast-paced and many things happen, after all these 2 guys are stranded on a planet, all by themselves and need to get to the wrack of the Icarus which is not easy – of course not. They have to face many dangers and need to overcome many obstacles, they don’t know if there is anything lingering in the forest, in the mountains or just up the trees.

The initially annoyance both feel for each other soon turns into working together well, even though they seem to drive one another crazy at times. As the book carries on you can feel and see that they start liking and thrusting each other.
Along the through the forest and mountains, their newly made friendship turns into more, and Lilac is not seeing the normal Major “gone hero” anymore in Tarver, but much more a life savior, the savior if her life.
Tarver had have feelings for Lilac much longer, but knew that she wouldn’t be interested in a guy like him, since they are from two completely different planets and there are dimensions between them. However, he eventually stops seeing the spoiled rich girl in her and is impressed by her knowledge of electronics and toughness she shows on their journey.

But of course not everything goes smooth. At some point Lilac is hearing whispers and voices, she thinks she’s slowly but surely going insane and so does Tarver. She tries to ignore them but it’s not possible. The voices and whispers remain in her head as they make their way through the forest to the Icarus.

Near the end things get really strange and weird and I had many “WTF is even happening” moments and it was really odd that some stuff was just left unexplained. Also the question arose, why things have been done as they were done, when they are super stupid and every normal person with a brain and the knowledge Lilac has would have done it differently. The result of these things happening also kinda freaked me a bit out and were super creepy. Also the book ended a little abrupt and things go a little to fast at the very end too.

But of course I don’t want to give away more than I already have. Overall the book is a really nice read, it’s somewhat entertaining and I definitely enjoyed reading it. I would have done some things different or even expected things to be a little different but that doesn’t change that I’d give the book 3.5 STARS out of 5.

Featured Image via DeviantArt.

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

1 thought on “These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner”

Spare some love!

