Not That Kind Of Girl by Lena Dunham (SPOILER)

5 STARS

I have to say I really enjoyed reading this book.

It was honest, open and brisk.
Lena addresses many problem you go through as a girl (well probably not only as a girl) while growing up and finding your place in life. For most of us it will be easy to relate to things like first sex, body image/dieting, school/college, work, friendships/relationships and family.

She’s telling her stories in such a way, that you can feel her pain and can relate, and yet she’s making it entertaining. The funny illustrations are supporting the text perfectly and the entire design of the books is really cute over all. 

It was such a nice and enjoyable read, SPOILER (hover over text)

Here are a few passages that I have marked:

On sex and her first time:

“How could I ever experience true solitude again when I’d had someone poking around in my insides?”

On platonic bed sharing:

“[…]not ugly enough to be repulsive and not beautiful enough to seal the deal”

On relationships:

“I always reminded myself that this wasn’t exactly where I was meant to be, but pit stops are okay on the road of life, aren’t they?”

On school:

“I’d hated school since the day I got there. […] I came home from the first day and plopped down at my pint-sized desk.
‘So, how’d it go’ my father asked.
‘It was fun’ I said ‘But I don’t think I will go back'”

OMG! THIS IS BASICALLY ME AFTER MY FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL.
NO KIDDING!
I really hated school from right the beginning!

This book is definitely worth a read, when you wanna laugh, cry and look back on what it was like growing up , and also for those still growing up. It shows that basically everyone is having struggle and life is not easy at all.

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 30 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

Spare some love!

