Studying – but what to do after?

It would be a lie if I would say I wouldn’t think or worry about the future. In fact I actually do a lot, even though my Mom thinks I don’t… Right now I don’t even know what I wanna do after graduation in December 2015 (latest!). I mean, I know I wanna work within Marketing/Communication/PR but that’s again so vague as it is actually such a big field, and there are so many different things you can do or you – somehow – can combine them all. Actually this is really sad and scares me at the same time.

via
via

I can’t even say if I can still see myself in Finland in the future.  I love Finland, I really do and it would probably break my heart having to leave, but being stuck here with no chances to find a suitable job in the field I have studied definitely isn’t what I’m looking for, as I of course want something good and positive for myself, my life and my future. I really wanna do something I really like and enjoy and not just go to work because I have to go or do – yet again – some stupid cleaning. I know this sounds stupid and arrogant, but I’m so done with all this kind of jobs. I need something real.

future1via

I know that it is utopian to believe to find an enjoyable job right after graduation and I know that this probably won’t be the case but still I can hope and look for something more related to my studies which brings me further. You know, baby steps and all these kind of things…

via
via

Finding a job is generally hard and I know not even in Germany it is easy but probably easier than in a country where you are far away of speaking the language fluently. And to be honest, I kind of gave up learning it. It sound nice and all but really learning it that well that you could use it professionally…uff maybe not for me, kiitos! And I even have to admit that – sometimes (rarely but it happens) — it actually even annoys me. The way it sound and especially the way women are speaking it. 90 out of 100 speak it with exact the same voice/tone, ugh  go away. (I know this sounds really harsh and mean, and I actually don’t mean it as such – so no offense my Finnish friends) — but yeah, I just have my days when it annoys me, but then everything else does too, to be honest.

via
via

Living in Finland always has been my dream and I have lived that dream for nearly 6 years and loved it, but sometimes being in a country which you love with all your heart, soul and mind isn’t just everything if you even can’t really live there because you barely have enough money for living. I’m a student, so I know what it is like to live on a minimum of money and to restrict yourself but that’s really something I don’t wanna do forever. This is all so confusing for me but sometime it’s just better to take a step back, after all I can say that I have lived and enjoyed my dream. And I loved and still love it. Right now I have huge feels for Berlin and I actually hope I can go and do my internship in Berlin (waiting for an answer) and check out how life in Berlin is. After all it is probably the only city I could imagine to live in Germany, okay Hamburg would be good as well but I really do love Berlin and I really could imagine living there.

via
via

 

Author: Fhina

Ocean soul. 28 years old book lover living in Helsinki, active reader and coffee addict.

3 thoughts on “Studying – but what to do after?”

  1. I can so much relate to this.. I have no clue what to do with my life, nothing is interesting enough to me to make me study it and connect my future life with it. Like.. I could go and study something “useful” like law or medicine but it won’t be fun for me, it won’t be interesting for me, so why should I do this? Because I can have a good job that won’t have anything to do with things that are interesting to me? That’s stupid. But also there’s so much things that are interesting to me but at the same time nothing is interesting so much that I want to do this my whole life. So yeah, basically decisions about future suck and not knowing what to do with life sucks too. Jesus I talk so much, sorry haha.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your long and lovely comment. 🙂
      When I was your age I knew exactly what I wanted to do and even started my apprenticeship in a Hotel, that turned out to be a nightmare! It is hard to find something really fulfilling in a job and I guess it may take some years until you are really happy with what you are doing for living. So don’t give up and try to find something that is versatile and you can go in different directions. Luckily I have this kind of possibility but at first I guess it’s important to have some kind of education 🙂

      Like

Spare some love!

